Do you guys watch your Hemoglobin/Hematocrit?

CLVTCH

I've been cycling on and off for so many years, but only now that I am in my late thirties am I starting to notice some of the toll it takes on my health, and I would like to minimize risk.  

So I have been on TRT since an injury when I was 17... lately it's been 100mg/week which TBH feels a little low but it's for health not for gains.

HOWEVER, as soon as I step on the gas a little my hemoglobin skyrockets.  For reference, prior to cycle I was 160.  I cycled for 8 weeks 160mg Test/wk and 450mg NPP/wk - I go to check my hemoglobin and it is 200!

Do you guys track your levels, and have you noticed this happening this fast for you as well?  Also, for those of you that have noticed this, how much of a concern is it to you?  I don't know if I am blowing this out of proportion, but the nurse looks at me like I am about to die from a stroke (which I suppose is possible).  I would love to have my cake and eat it too, but when my hemoglobin spikes so fast, even donating blood doesn't seem to slow it down.

Oh, and yes I donate every 56 days or whatever the minimum timeframe is these days.

Yeah  I hear ya.  It's frustrating. 

My doc is anal about this and takes me off until it comes down.

I don't seem to have it as bad as you,  when I donate it usually falls below range.  Except this time I couldn't get in to LifeLabs quickly enough after donating.  They closed the closest location b/c of Covid, and other locations were totally swamped and I got turned away twice.  Finally went to Dynacare and got in, but almost a week had passed and I was over again, and was told to stop.  Fuuuuuck!

I've never seen 200, that sounds high, but FWIW, if you're going by pre-donation readings, those are not very accurate. 

I'm thinking of seeking therapeutic phlebotomy if I have to wait too long.  Maybe bribe my vet if I have to 😉